Baransu Holistic Day Spa

For our commercial and residential project this semester, we are participating in the Bienenstock competition; this competition is challenging us to design a holistic day spa for patients with Multiple Sclerosis. In this blog I am going to explain to you why I laid my floor plan out the way I did. At the bottom of the picture below, you will find the front/main entrance into the building. The main entrance, to me, needed to go straight into the reception area off to the right you will see the book keepers office I kept this office near the reception are because it needed to be easily accessed by the receptionist. Directly behind the reception area you will see the two massage rooms. I put the massage rooms there so if a patient was coming specifically for a massage they would not have to travel far to get to where they needed to be. If you go left throughout the building you will find the consultation area which I also did not want to be far from the reception area. Moving on through you will walk past the swimming pool area, into the exercise area; to the right of the exercise area you will see the bathrooms which include a shower, dressing room ,locker area, and bathroom. I felt the rest rooms were located in the right area because people need to change and shower are there for the pool or the exercise area so they needed to be adjacent to each other. In the back I located the reflection area where there is a nice view of the mountain out the back window. Thank you for walking throughout this space with me, I hope this helps you get a good view of what I am trying to accomplish.

SCALE: 1/8″ = 1′-0″

Spa Drawing for Blog

Leave a comment